#66thNationalAwards: Big B, Ayushmann, Vicky & Akshay Emerge as Winners

The 66th National Film Awards for the year 2018 was announced in August, and the ceremony was held on Monday in New Delhi.

Go to the profile of  Parul Sharma
Parul Sharma
3 min read
#66thNationalAwards: Big B, Ayushmann, Vicky & Akshay Emerge as Winners

The 66th National Award, which was announced in August 2019, the ceremony was held in the capital on Monday. And, many from the Bollywood film fraternity attended the ceremony held at Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi. Yes, this year's Best Actor award recipients Vicky Kaushal and Ayushmann Khurrana, along with Akshay Kumar, attended the event. Mr. Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu presented the awards to all the winners.

For Best Film on Social Issues, Akshay Kumar received the National Award for his film Padman. The ceremony was hosted by Sonali Kulkarni and Divya Dutta. Interestingly,  last year, Divya was the winner for the award Best Supporting Actress for her movie Irada.

Amitabh Bachchan couldn't attend the ceremony because of poor health and was honored with Dada Saheb Phalke Award this year. And, to express his regret of not being able to attend the ceremony and receive the award, he took to social media and wrote,

“T 3584/5/6 -
Down with fever .. ! Not allowed to travel .. will not be able to attend National Award tomorrow in Delhi .. so unfortunate .. my regrets ..”

Surekha Sikri, a Veteran actress, also bestowed with her third National Award for being a part of the film, 'Badhaai Ho' in 2018, and got special attention from the audience. She arrived at the venue in a wheelchair to receive the prestigious award in the category of Best Supporting Role (Female).

Earlier, while talking to media persons, Surekha had said,

"National Award for 'Badhaai Ho' is an unexpectedly pleasant surprise. It is a great feeling right now. I got a call from the director just now informing about the National Award win. I wish he could have won the award. I thank all the people who liked the concept and the film and it feels great when your work gets appreciated."

Here is the Complete List of Award Winners:

Most film-friendly state: Uttarakhand

Best book on cinema: Malayalam Book Mano Prarthana Pulley; In A Cult Of Their Own gets Special Mention

Best Film Critic: Blase Johnny (Malayalam), Ananth Vijay (Hindi)

Non-Feature Film Category

Best Film on Family Values: Chalo Jeete Hain

Best Short Fiction Film: Kharvas

Social Justice Film: Why Me

Best Investigation Film: Amoli

Best Sports Film: Swimming Through The Darkness

Best Educational Film: Sarala Virala

Best Film on Social Issue: Taala Te Kunjee

Best Environmental Film: The World's Most Famous Tiger

Best Promotional Film: Rediscovering Jajam

Best Film on Science and Technology: G.D.Naidu : The Edison Of India

Best Arts and Cultural Film: Bunkar: The Last of The Varanasi Weavers

Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Sagnik Chatterjee for Feluda_50 Years Rays Detective

Best Non-Feature Film: Sunrise, The Secret Life of Frogs

Feature Films Category

Actors who get a special mention for their performance: Sruthi Hariharan, Chandrachud Rai, Josy Joseph, Savitri

Best Rajasthani Film: Turtle

Best Pangchenpa Film: In The Land Of Poison Women

Best Garo Film: Ma'ama

Best Marathi Film: Bhonga

Best Tamil Film: Baaram

Best Hindi Film: Andhadhun

Best Urdu Film: Hamid

Best Bengali Film: Ek Je Chhilo Raja

Best Malayalam Film: Sudani From Nigeria

Best Telugu Film: Mahanati

Best Kannada Film: Nathicharami

Best Konkani Film: Amori

Best Assamese Film: Bulbul Can Sing

Best Punjabi Film: Harjeeta

Best Gujarati Film: Reva

Best Choreography: Kruti Mahesh Midya and Jyothi D Tommaar for Ghoomar, Padmaavat

Best Music Director: Padmaavat

Best Special Effect: Awe, KGF

Best Music Direction: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Padmaavat

Best Background Music Award: Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Makeup Artist: Ranjith for Awe

Best Costume Designer: Rajshree Patnaik, Gaurang Shah and Archana Rao for Mahanati

Best Action: KGF: Chapter 1

Best Lyrics: Nathicharami

Best Production Design: Kammara Sambhavam

Best Editing: Nathicharami

Best Audiography: Tendlya, Uri and Rangasthalam

Best Sound Design: Uri

Best Mixed Track: Rangasthalam

Best Original Screenplay: Chi La Sow

Best Adapted Screenplay: Andhadhun

Best Dialogue: Tarikh

Best Cinematography: Olu (Malayalam) to MJ Radhakrishnan

Best Female Playback Singer: Bindu Mani for Mayavi Manave from Nathicharami

Best Male Playback Singer: Arijit Singh for Binte Dil from Padmaavat

Best Film on Social Issues: Pad Man

Best Supporting Actress: Surekha Sikri for Badhaai Ho

Best Supporting Actor: Swanand Kirkire for Chumbak

Best Actor: Ayushmann Khurrana, Andhadhun, and Vicky Kaushal, Uri

Best Actress: Keerthy Suresh for Mahanati

Best Direction: Aditya Dhar for Uri

Best Feature Film: Hellaro (Gujarati)

Best Children's Film: Sarkari. Hi. Pra. Shale Kasaragodu, Koduge

Best Child Actors: PV Rohith for Ondalla Eradalla (Kannada), Sameep Singh for Harjeeta (Punjabi), Talha Arshad Reshi for Hamid (Urdu), Shrinivas Pokale for Naal(Marathi)

Best Film on Environment Conservation: Paani

Nargis Dutt Award for National Integration: Ondalla Eradalla

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Badhaai Ho

Jury Awards: Kedara (Bengali), Hellaro (Gujarati)

A Big Congratulations to All the National Award Winners!